Opening Ceremony

    The opening ceremony was held in the large hall on the 41st floor of the Splendor Hotel.


Some of the participants in the opening ceremony talking beforehand.

The two guys on the left are from Finland. The one on the right is Mikhail Titov, originally from Russia but now at the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.

Dr. Y.S. Mayya, President of AARA (Asian Aerosol Research Assembly), Environmental Assessment Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mombai, India.

Prof. Chung-Shin Yuan, Chair of the5th Asian Aerosol Conference, Institute of Environmental Engineering, National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan.

Mr. Taisan Chiu, Deputy Mayor, Kaohsiung City.

Dr. Yu-Chi Chu, Director, Department of Environmental Monitoring and Information Management, Environmental Protection Administration, Executive Yuan, Republic of China (Taiwan).

Dr. David Pui, President of the International Aerosol Research Assembly (IARA), Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Department, Director of the Particle Technology Laboratory, University of Minnesota.

Part of the opening ceremony was a tribute to recently deceased Sheldon Friedlander, a giant in the field of aerosols. It was actually three separate tributes. The first was by David Pui. The second was by C.S. Wang and Jang Hee Dong (shown here), and the third (below) was by Hee Dong Jang of Korea.


Back to AAC 2007